Minor Triumph

Standard

Tonight I braved the Wii, and, even though it said, “Ooh!” in that pained tone I have come to dread, I found that I had already lost over a pound.  Now, that in and of itself is nothing to blog about, except that, additionally, my clothes are beginning to fit better, I noticed the skin around my jawline fitting better, my rings are looser, and the scale at work also shows me down since just last week.

The best part?  I haven’t been starving myself!

In fact, I’ve been pampering myself with great food – and lots of it!  This evening, I made cajun-style scallops, shrimp, and mahi-mahi, served with madras lentils, lemon-kissed broccoli, and carrots.  (And I get that for lunch, tomorrow, too!  Woot!) 

Last night, my dinner was so beautiful, I even did a foodie and took a picture of it: Mexican-style grilled chicken breast with red, yellow, orange, and green bell peppers, onions, black beans, a tossed spinach salad, fresh avacado, and salsa.  And I had that for lunch today. 

I think one of the absolute best parts of my menu plan is preparing enough at dinner to have the same thing for lunch the following day.  It has saved tremendous amounts of time – and calories – because I’m not rushed to fix my lunch, nor need I even really think about it, and I’m not tempted to go for fast food.  It’s already done as soon as I serve dinner – I simply serve it into my lunch container when I dole out everyone’s portions.

To be perfectly, brutally honest, I did cheat today.  I had a “reduced calorie” cherry limeade at Sonic.  And, no, it was not a small.

But even so, eating great food, feeling healthier, and slimming down?  Okay, it’s worth it so far.

Leave a Reply

