It’s Working!

Standard

So, Sunday was a test – a test to see if I could really have a crazy day without paying for it.  It worked! 

Monday, I got up early and hopped on the Wii.  It said, “OMG! You gained .9 pounds, woman!”  I said, “Yeah, that’s fair. Let’s see what you say tomorrow, sucka!

Tuesday, I got up early (I sense a disturbing trend here) and hopped on the Wii.  It said, “You have lost .7 pounds.  You may not reach your goal in time. Would you like to set a new goal?” I said, “I’ve got a solid week to reach my goal, and I know I’m going to make it, so NO!”

So, following the meal plan, the menu, it basically evened out having a crazy day.  The best part?  After going crazy on all the stuff I could think of, I had ZERO cravings for any of that stuff, for any sugary stuff at all, really.  I was thinking that, after having succumbed to all sorts of strange temptations, I would be that much more likely to fall off the wagon again. 

But no.  It was totally the opposite.  The mere idea of having any of that stuff actually revolted me.  I realized that, although I’d been looking forward all last week to my day of insanity, I hadn’t really enjoyed the actual food that much.  It was more the anticipation of the food that I enjoyed.  Getting to eat it was almost an anticlimax.  Maybe it was because it was one of the only times I’d ever indulged truly guilt free.  Whatever it was, Monday rolled around, and I was glad to be back on the plan; I was looking forward to eating food that was good for my body.

Here’s another strange thing: when this started, I was really hungry.  I took it to heart that I could eat as much as I wanted.  Now?  I have trouble finishing a meal.  I don’t really want all that I’m served – even when I serve myself.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy the food, it’s just that it satisfies me a lot faster.  And I don’t get screaming-hungry after eating, either.

Another experiment: the personal trainer at the gym said that optimally, I need to have a quick bite to eat as soon as I get up to get my metabolism going and get my body out of the night fasting mode.  To that end, I’ve tossed back a quick 4 ounces – half a glass – of orange juice before I take the dog for his morning walk.  I think it is helping – and I get happy, guilt-free OJ, too.

She also said I should try to get an afternoon snack, ideally right after a workout.  She recommended protein bars.  Now this is where I learned something.  “Protein” bars aren’t.  They’re crazy-full of carbohydrates!  I bought a CLIF bar without reading the packaging first, and realized it has 44 grams of carbohydrates.  Now, don’t get me wrong, it was delectable, but 44 grams?  And 21 grams of sugars?  Okay, I can see it if you want energy, because calories are energy, but it was a real education in the world of product-label-reading!

Today, I tried a Detour Lean Muscle Cookie Dough Caramel Crisp bar, after reading the label and comparing it to the other bars available.  With a name like “Cookie Dough Caramel Crisp,” I figured you couldn’t go wrong.  Well – that was the theory.  Okay, so it had lots of textures, and in its own bizarre way was pretty good, but it was the PowerBar of cookie doughs.  It forever tarnished my memory of cookie dough – that creamy, brown-sugar-kissed confection that brings the comfort food eater to the next plane of nirvana – this was not cookie dough.  The closest this solid almost-nougat mass came to being cookie dough was in its color – and its very odd black flecks which resembled miniature chocolate chips in their general shape and appearance, however the taste was completely… protein.

But here is my question – that bar said only 3 grams net sugar.  What about the 27 grams of sugar alcohol?  Why is that discounted in the realm of product labeling?  Does my body discount it?

I also tried the Cafe Latte flavor of the Muscle Milk Lite.  That was pleasantly reminiscent of a bottled Frappuccino.  It wasn’t as cloying as the regular Muscle Milk, which I tried the other week when my husband bought some.  It was thick – and it wasn’t really milk.  Ach, we’ll see what my body makes of all this craziness.

Speaking of craziness, I have started doing the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred exercise after work.  That is a total body workout.  I think the only muscles I cannot feel trembling afterward are my eyelids.  (Okay, so eyelids aren’t really a muscle, but you get the idea.)  Yesterday, there were 5 or 6 people who all did it.  Today, I was the only one.  But you know what?  Instead of giving up and walking away, I got out the weights and the jumprope and I turned on that video and worked just as hard as I could.  It felt good, perhaps especially because it was only for me.  Tomorrow, I know I’ll be sore.  I think it’ll be worth it.

2 responses »

  1. Hmm..I feel like we’ve had this conversation already. Deja vu! Whee!

    So, when do you work out? Mornings, afternoons, during the night when everyone else sleeps? Inquiring minds must know.

    I’ve heard the Jillian shred thing is EVIL. Good for you for going back on day 2! 🙂

    • I’ve been working out at work right after duty. That’s only Mon Tue Thu. I also joined a gym, and it’s got spiff child care as well as an indoor pool.

      That means I’ve got two little motivators working to get me to go as often as possible.

      Though the reality right now is that we’ve gone once between just having joined, getting sick, and them renovating this week.

      I’ve actually done the shred 4 times now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

