Anatomy of a Day

Standard

So, why haven’t I made an effort to keep up with blogging?  Well, I realized it’s largely because of time.  I have time to compose when it is the least possible for me to be able to actually write.  Then, when I have time, it’s generally stolen from something else – like sleep.

So, to make me feel better about myself and my general lack of ability to get anything meaningful accomplished, I wanted to set out the anatomy of my day:

5:20 – Alarm goes off

5:30-5:40 – Finally get out of bed

5:40-5:50 – Contacts, Hair, Clothes

5:50-6:05 – Wake and dress kids

6:05-6:35 – Breakfast, kids’ hair, read newspaper

6:35-6:45 – Get everyone out to the car plus all the stuff

6:50-7:00 – Drop kids at school

7:00-7:20 – Commute (usually run a bit late)

7:20-3:45 – Work

3:50-4:25 – Commute

4:30-4:45 – Pick kids up (Why does this always take SO long?)

4:50 – Arrive home.  Begin preparing dinner, have kids play outside before it gets dark at 5:30.

5:20-5:50 Dinner.

6:00 (Monday gymnastics for kids) Usually go over homework, have play time, sometimes have movie time, dishes, computer time for adults

6:45-8:20 – Yoga (Monday, Thursday)

7:00 – Start getting kids ready for bed – showers, brush teeth, set out clothes, lunches ready, homework checked, stories read

8:00 – Bedtime for kids

8:00-9:30 or 10:00 – What do I really do with this time?  I have no idea.

10:00 – Sleep

Commitments:

* Occasional after work meetings which keep me away from home longer.

* Meetings for the girls the first Monday of the month and the first and third Tuesday of the month.

* Gymnastics Mondays.

* Yoga (Mondays and Thursdays, and I’m trying to get to where I go Tuesday and Wednesday)

Okay, so looking at this, I actually can see some places where I do have some spots of time.  I really do have some time that I need to maximize between 6 and 7pm and from 8-10pm.  That early time I would like to focus on doing something with the kids before they go to bed, whether it’s games, reading, homework, or just being together.  I should probably cut out some of the Netflix time they get and not bother getting on the computer myself until they’re in bed.

After they’re in bed, I should get myself set for the next day, get some chores done, and sit down to blog or paint or something to actualize myself.

I’d really like to get to the point where I don’t have to spend any time preparing dinner.  I’d like to have it microwave-ready or something.  Just spend one day, like Sunday night, getting everything prepped for the week, and then just warm it up.  But how well would that really work, I wonder?  I suppose I can try it and see.

I guess halfway into week two of January that my new resolve is to make better use of my time to get more accomplished, both with quality time and with chores.  If I can be more productive at home and waste less time, I think it will help.

One response »

  1. Sounds like you already use your day pretty well. 🙂 I can’t get up before 5:30am either, no matter what time my alarm goes off. I was just thinking this morning that that would be a useful skill. The only reason I get anything meaningful done is because I do it while the kids are at school, which is when you’re at work. Working is meaningful, remember that! 🙂 You’re doing a great job with your family!

Leave a Reply

