Resolutions: Two Week Update

Standard

So, it’s two weeks into a new year, and I feel that’s a good time to re-evaluate my resolutions. 

I went back and looked at my overly optimistic post about all the things I want to change about myself, and I realized that I’ve kept 3 of the multitude of resolutions I claimed.

Writing – no.  But I am writing more, so at least making the resolution has pointed me in the “write” direction.

Sticking to the meal plan – no.  That’s shattered a couple of times.  Would have loved to say yes, but man, those Girl Scout cookies are a real draw.

Size 10 – not yet.  Some of the 12’s are loose on me, but I have serious trust issues with those pants.  I raided my spare closet last night for other size 12 pants, and after I try those older ones on, we’ll talk.

Yoga – yes!  I have gone Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday.  Tuesdays for some reason just have not worked for me yet.  Perhaps it’s because I’m so tired after Monday and I just want to hide.

Daily vitamin – yes!  I have had my One-a-Day most days.  I’m also taking calcium and drinking vitamin water.

80 ounces of water – yes!  With the exception of a day here or there, I’ve been drinking an enormous amount of water.  It’s been helping a lot, and I have also noticed fewer problems with dry skin this winter.

Meditation – no.  I crawl into bed and then think, “Oh, I should have been meditating.”  And I don’t crawl back out.  I sort of compromise and try reading some Buddhist writing before drifting off.  Then I sort of practice the breathing technique.  Then I realize I’m ready for sleep and I zonk out.  Does that count?  Probably not.

I don’t know what my blood pressure is or has been since before Christmas.  I haven’t had a reading taken in a while.  I feel good for the most part, so I’m not as worried about it as perhaps I should or could be.  I guess I need to take readings on that at home, but I haven’t yet stirred myself to do so.

Today we had all-you-can-eat Chick-Fil-A as a working lunch.  Wowzers!  I realize I can eat a lot of salad.  I’m stuffed, but happily so.  I was strong enough to walk right on past the brownies and cake, have a single serving of fruit, and pile up on salad and even extra nuggets (rationalizing that they’re protein – okay, yes, deep fried protein with breading, but don’t burst my happiness bubble here!).  I’ve decided that Chick-Fil-A is a happiness-maker for me right now.  And it’s even better when someone else has footed the tab.  And all-you-can-eat?  Okay, this really is heaven.

Speaking of today, I scrounged up the courage to ask for help at work doing something I desperately need an outside pair of expert eyes to do, plus a seasoned veteran’s opinion on.  And it worked!  Not only will I get the help I need, but the head of the department understands my conundrum and is excited to use my stuff as her guinea pig experimenting with a new vendor.  It’s a total win-win!  I am having such a great day that I feel both super blessed – and as though I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop and me to realize how I really fouled something up.

But I’ll look on the bright side right now and just enjoy my happy Chick-Fil-A filled belly.

Leave a Reply

