Stealing time

Standard

So I’m just stealing time from myself right now to write this, but I realize that unless I do steal time, I will never, ever write anything that floats through my head as a potential post.

I may not even be able to edit or make this anything more than rambling because I just need to get it down before I have to go. 

I’m at work, after hours, and decided to check up on email and stuff before I got in the car (rather than on the highway, which in my addle-pated mind is the PERFECT time to check email *sigh*), and I saw an updated blog post from my BFF, and I realized that I haven’t written anything in a week.  Not actually physically written anything.  I’ve thought the thoughts, but not dotted the dots.  Or whatever.  It hasn’t happened.  And that’s because I never steal the time to sit down and write.

Things I have stolen time to do lately:

  • go to yoga
  • clean the house
  • take care of pets
  • watch stuff on Netflix, lately “Touch” the TV series
  • go to Girl Scout meetings
  • try to learn about the credit-card swipers that people can use this year for cookies
  • get extra work stuff done on my own time
  • work on my second house to get it ready to rent
  • meet with friends for coffee
  • read out loud to my kids
  • go shopping and buy healthy food
  • check and post stuff on Facebook (although this week, I’m choosing to be less active on that)

Things I need to steal time to do:

  • go to yoga, but this time at the wacky new times they offer
  • do laundry (yuck!) but really, now I’m digging in the clean laundry baskets for underwear, and that’s just never good
  • write
  • do art
  • write letters to all of these people I’ve been meaning to write to
  • store the Christmas stuff in the attic instead of in boxes in the craft room
  • get my hair cut
  • go to the doctor for a check-up
  • go to the dentist
  • go for a walk in a beautiful place
  • read a good book
  • read with my kids
  • set up Girl Scout cookie booth sales
  • make lunches the night before

And now?  Now I need to steal the time to drive through the wet streets to pick up my kids, feed them, do homework, chores, etc., and still get to the yoga class I want to attend.  Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Leave a comment